Distinguished Alumni Professor

Meet Dr. Derendorf

Dr. Hartmut Derendorf arrived at the University of Florida from Germany in 1981 with the intention of staying for just two years. Thirty-four years later, Dr. Derendorf's affinity for The Gator Nation® and its unique spirit has only grown. He represents that spirit and the University of Florida proudly in his travels around the globe as Distinguished Professor, V. Ravi Chandran Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences and Chairman of the Department of Pharmaceutics at the UF College of Pharmacy.

Drs. Derendorf and Estes in Athens, Greece

A prolific writer and speaker, Dr. Derendorf has published over 440 scientific publications, presented more than 850 times at national or international meetings, and published ten textbooks in English and German. He is Editor or Associate Editor of the Journal of Clinical Pharmacology, European Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences, International Journal of Clinical Pharmacology & Therapeutics, International Journal of Antiinfective Agents and Die Pharmazie, and serves on the Editorial Board of several other Journals.

He received UF's Teaching Improvement Award in 1995 and the HHMI Distinguished Mentorship Award in 2008. His other awards include the UF Research Foundation Professorship (2002), the CVS Pharmacy Endowed Professorship (2007-2013), the International Educator of the Year Award (2004-2007,) and the UF Doctoral Advisor/Mentoring Award (2009). During his tenure at UF, he has supervised more than 50 Ph.D. students.

Dr. Derendorf, an avid stamp collector, received these specially made stamps with his Faculty Award in Pharmaceutical Sciences from the University of Utrecht in the Netherlands

Internationally, Dr. Derendorf's leadership in the fields of biopharmaceutics, pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics has resulted in numerous awards and leadership positions. He has served as President of ACCP (American College of Clinical Pharmacology) in 2006/08 and President of ISAP (International Society of Antiinfective Pharmacology) in 2004/06. He won the McKeen-Cattell Award for the best publication in J. Clin. Pharmacology (1994) and the Faculty Award of the University of Utrecht (2005). In 2003, he was awarded the Nathaniel T. Kwit Distinguished Service Award of ACCP and the Research Achievement Award in Clinical Science of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Sciences (AAPS). He is a Fellow of AAPS and ACCP as well as a former review panel member of the NASA Human Research Program. In 2010, he was awarded the Volwiler Award of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) as well as the ACCP Distinguished Investigator Award, the highest research awards of both organizations. In 2013, he was awarded the First Leadership Award of the International Society of Pharmacometrics (ISOP). In 2015 he received the Merit Medal of the Westphalian Chamber of Pharmacy as well as the ACCP Mentorship Award.

As impressive as these accolades are, the DAP Selection Committee was even more touched by Dr. Derendorf's personal connections and dedication to UF. He met his wife, Dr. Kerry Estes (PhD '82), during his Post-Doc years as she pursued her own PhD in Pharmaceutical Sciences. In fact, Dr. Derendorf says that when he arrived in Gainesville, he fell in love twice – once with the University of Florida and, more importantly, with his wife. They married and raised two sons, Kevin (BSME '08) and Karsten (MACC '13), who also went on to graduate from the University of Florida. Dr. Derendorf proudly refers to them as "a Gator family."

Learn more about Dr. Derendorf is excited to be the UFAA's 18th Distinguished Alumni Professor as well as his Gator story, goals and research in the video below:

History of the DAP Award

Every two years the UF Alumni Association selects a university faculty member to receive the Distinguished Alumni Professor (DAP) Award. The title holder serves as an ambassador of the university's academic and research achievements to The Gator Nation.

The DAP Award was originated by Bruce Flower in 1978 with Robert Bryan, Steve Wilkerson, Michael Gannon and Samuel Proctor. The recipient of the DAP Award is asked to serve on the Alumni Association Board of Directors for a two-year term, and work with the Alumni Association in various programs (to the degree that his/her schedule permits) including speaking at Club events, Gator Nation U and the Phil Griffin Distinguished Lecture Series.

2017-2019 Application

Application packets must be submitted to Lindsey Farah, Director of College and Unit Engagement - Alumni Affairs, no later than January 27, 2017. Completed packets should include the signed nominee information form, a Curriculum Vitae, one-page personal statement of research interest, letter of recommendation from College Dean or Department Chair/Director, and an Endorsement of Nomination by the College Dean.

2017-2019 Application Packet

Former DAP Award Winners

Distinguished Alumni Professor Term
Mark S. Gold, Medicine 2011-15
Betty Smocovitis, Biology 2009-11
Richard J. Lutz, Marketing 2007-09
Karen Bjorndal, Zoology 2005-07
Kevin McCarthy, English 2003-05
Laurence Alexander, Journalism 2001-03
Louis Guillette, Zoology ^ 1999-2001
Paul Doering, Pharmacy 1997-99
John Strayer, Entomology 1995-97
Carolyn M. Tucker, Psychology 1993-95
Bruce H. Edwards, Mathematics 1991-93
David A. Denslow, Economics 1989-91
Karelisa V. Hartigan, Classics 1987-89
David M. Chalmers, History 1985-87
Larry L. Hench, Engineering 1983-85
Alex G. Smith, Astronomy ^ 1981-83
Michael V. Gannon, History 1979-81

^ deceased

Join Today

UFAA membership supports the Distinguished Alumni Professor Award and many other exciting programs!

Join Today